Winter afternoon

photo-00090.jpg

We had our first major winter storm yesterday. Believe me, it was a very difficult, treacherous, day for me. Most of you know that I don’t drive so I rely on public transportation (re: subway/elevated trains, buses or taxi cab). I first heard about the winter snowstorm warning from our local news and internet, of course. I’ve been living here in Chicago for such a long time now that I am used to the frigid temperature we usually get every year. Yesterday was not my day however.

My not-so-lucky-day started in the early morning commute. I knew from the moment that I got out of the house my day wouldn’t be so perfect as I wanted to be. Do I sound so pessimistic here? Hah! Well, my bus was late. The train wouldn’t move. When I got out of the train, I couldn’t see a damn thing because it was too cold outside and my eyeglasses…dang! Every little thing so blurry and misty! Hahaha! When I looked up on the silvery sky, it made me feel miserable and a bit lonely (misty eyed here *lol* just kidding!).

I am not going to write about how my day at work was but you bet, I was too sleepy. Looking through tinted glasses on top of a skyscraper here in downtown and longing to be outside to catch some snow and let it drop on my hands, it made me feel a little bit homesick. Well, I just had to endure a few hours of “homesickness” and go home, spend some quite time with my family and cuddle with my dog (I know that’s sad…lol). That was just a random thought and yeah enough wishful thinking.

I took a snap of what it looked outside yesterday. As you can see, I didn’t get a picture perfect shot. I was blinded by my own blurry vision (re: foggy glasses) and it wasn’t easy! Taking pictures with my camera phone in the middle of a snowstorm with my winter gear (re: gloves, earmuffs, bonnet and scarf) and not to forget my heavy boots on. Yeah, I could definetely assure you that I looked like an Alaskan eskimo. The only thing missing? Sled dogs and igloo.

And yes, that would be a real adventure readers :)….

Leave a Reply

