Kikay Moment

Traveling on a train last night from work, I had some sort of a very funny moment. Rush hour @ 5:30 pm usually brings out a crowd of people. I don’t mind using public transportation since I don’t drive a car. Riding buses and subway trains are way much cheaper than purchasing gasoline almost every week. Besides, I like observing people. I know am weird but I find it really fascinating to watch people go about with their lives and yeah, kinda stressful too (sometimes). Anyway, there’s a bunch of construction projects going on the Brown Line train station so I’ll never really know when those “quirky, silly, sometimes-humor-me-situation happen. I may sound whiny but hey, I am just human and I have feelings too (lol* that was unnecessary!). Hmm, well what can I say? Living here in the States taught me a lot of things about people, places, cultures and yes, Chicago is the best city in the world (yeah! Go Bears!).

On a frequent train ride, I would just usually ignore people, read a book and listen to my teeny-weeny “cell radio”. I love listening to B96 btw and DJ Flipside’s 5 pm Live Mix show surely rocks! Anyway, I don’t really like it when people talk so loud on their cellphone….ya know enough for everyone to hear their “private” conversations. There’s this guy behind me who keeps on blabbing nonstop about his sexcapades with god-knows-who and I just totally felt uncomfortable. I can’t help myself but listen because even though my headphones were totally blastin’ my ears, I could still hear the dude behind me. I know it’s rude for me to tell him to shut up so I just tried my best to ignore this puckwit.

But of course, I couldn’t! I can’t even concentrate on the book that I was reading. The hell with it! Suddenly, I heard the conductor announcing something and yeah, I really had to listen carefully and I got a little bit confused ‘coz I thought I heard him say the words “contraption and surgery.” And I was like, okay…what’s going on? Though I know that I am a little bit pissed with the dude behind me but I just have to confirm what I heard and so I asked him, “What did he say? I thought I heard him say “contraption” and “surgery”. The dude replied, “That’s what he said alright. Contraption and surgery.”

Upon learning that I didn’t misheard every word that the train conductor was sayin, I just started laughin. The dude behind me and I both realized what the conductor was trying to say, “Attention passengers, due to construction going on the Brown Line station and passenger surge during rush hour, please allow extra travel time!” Wtf?!? LoL!

That was lame, I know. I just thought I’d share 🙂

5 thoughts on “Kikay Moment”

Leave a Reply

